Instituted in 1999 and named for the late Phil Rather, a dedicated and generous healthcare advocate who led two major capital campaigns for the original Watsonville Community Hospital, the Rather Award for Leadership in Healthcare annually recognizes one individual and one organization that have made outstanding contributions to health and quality of life for Pajaro Valley residents.

We invite you to nominate an individual, business or organization that exemplifies Mr. Rather’s commitment to improving our community’s health.

We will honor the 2019 winners and celebrate their contributions with an award ceremony to be held on Wednesday, May 15, 2019.

CLICK HERE  for the nomination form. Submissions deadline is March 8, 2019.

Past recipients of the Rather Award include:

1999 Phil Rather
2000 The DiCicco Family of Watsonville
2001 Dr. Janet Bell
2002 Bonnie Gutierrez
2003 Jorge Sanchez, Si Se Puede and the Watsonville Community Hospital Service League
2004 Salud Para La Gente
2005 Ed and Doris Mann and Hospice Caring Project of Santa Cruz County
2006 Mary Boyd and The Central California Alliance for Health
2007 Dr. George Wolfe and the Youth Resource Bank of Santa Cruz County
2008 Kathleen Kilpatrick, RN at Watsonville High School and the Healthy Kids Program of Santa Cruz County
2009 Mary Solari and Ginny Solari Mazry and The Richard and Mary Solari Charitable Trust and Jovenes SANOS
2010 Thea Luiten, RN and The Child and Family Development Programs of the Santa Cruz Community Counseling Center
2011 Dori Rose Inda and Planned Parenthood Mar Monte.
2012 Cathy Cavanaugh, MS, RD, Community Bridges WIC and The Fitness 4 Life Program of the Pajaro Valley Unified School District.
2013 Dr. Miguel Vasquez and Dientes Community Dental Services.
2014 Chila Correa and Jacob’s Heart Children’s Cancer Support Services.
2015 Dr. Stanley Hajduk and the Community Alliance of Family Farmers
2016 Paul Furman and the Watsonville Family YMCA
2017 Eleanor Littman and FoodWhat?!
2018 Dr. Michele Violich and Second Harvest Food Bank Santa Cruz County